Hair loss and cover-ups

Experiencing hair-loss because of xx medicine or xx disease? I have touched on this topic several times (check out: this, this and this). It has been two years since I shaved my head, and to be honest, I would do it again! Being bald was an eye-opening experience and a life-changing event for me (the diva pre-lupus was lame!). But I do looove my hair. Although I have come a looong way and have enough hair to style (I use a hair dryer!), I still tackle bald spots on a daily basis. If you are in the same boat as me (i.e., have enough hair to go without a wig or scarf), let me elaborate on some options you can use as a cover-up:

1. Make friends with your hairdresser. Explain your situation and have him/her give you a cut/style that helps with your cover-up. It is amazing what a good style can do for you. My hair is styled with longer layers around the bald spot– so that I can use the Donald Trump move of swooping hair over the spot, without looking cheesy.

joan2. Joan Rivers Great Hair Day: My auntie, Joan Rivers ;), came up with a great product to give the illusion of thick full hair, hide hair loss, thinning hair, bald spots & root growth. This product comes in three shades: blonde, brunette, and salt and pepper (although I have seen shades for red-heads). This is a powder that dulls your shin y bald spots, therefore, giving the illusion of thicker hair. The powder comes in a compact, which includes a mirror and brush applicator for easy application. You can use the non-brush end of the applicator to separate your hair strands to expose the bald-spot, then you simply brush on the powder to the spot. It is very easy to use and is great for an easy cover-up. FYI: Running behind on your hair color maintenance? This product works for root-touch-ups. Diva tip: Although this product will not smear, I recommend hair-spraying the blotted areas for extra staying power.

Pros: Easy to use and on the cheap (no more than $19.99). Works great for smaller cover-ups. Can order from online retailers (QVC, etc) or from retail stores, such as Bed, Bath & Beyond.

Cons:  If you are trying to hide a larger-than-dime-size bald spot, consider using the options below. When I used this powder for larger areas, it looked like I painted on my scalp.

2. Hair fibers (Products: Kamo and XFUSION)

xfusionThe new wave of cover-ups has arrived. Hair fibers are one-step ahead of the powders and spray-on bottles, by giving the illusion of hair strands on your bald spot. The problem with powders and sprays is that, when applied to larger areas, it looks like you colored your scalp. These hair fibers give dimension– you are literally applying hair to your bald spot. Hair fibers cling to your existing hair strands for a great blend. These fibers hold on for dear life and stay on until you shampoo your hair. These products are sold in salons and come in a variety of colors to match you. I have used both the Kamo and XFusion fibers, and they both do the job. No more worrying about exposing your bald spot– you have more important things to think about!

How to apply: USE ON DRY HAIR ONLY! You do not want a wet clumpy hairy mess on your hands. Style your hair as usual (i.e., apply all products needed). Find your spot, and shake on the fibers. Gently pat to disperse the fibers. Again, I recommend, hair spraying the area for extra staying power.

Pros: Easy to use and quicker than brushing on powder. Your cover-up will not look like a cover-up.

Cons: Cost is higher but you are paying for what you get. Kamo fibers are exclusively sold at Visible Changes in Texas only. 😦 XFusion fibers seem to more widely available, and you may order online.

It is unfortunate that we are young and have to experience with issues, such as hair loss, however, it does not have to beat us down. Luckily, there are options and products we can use to make the issue disappear for a moment. Jiggly women (i.e., ME) use SPANX all the time… why not use these cover-ups to give another illusion? The great thing is that you are still able to rock your hair and show-off your great personality. If you have any more cover-up suggestions, please feel free to add to the list!

Stay Fabulous!

One thought on “Hair loss and cover-ups

  1. Hi,
    My name is Jenni. I am 22 and have had SLE for 5 years now. I have been through really bad times and now I am “stable”.
    I found your site because I recently noticed a bald spot. I have never had one before even with all the medications I have tried. I was on Methotrexate when I first was diagnosed and it was absolutely horrible. I lost so much of my hair. Beginning this year I was able to get completely off Prednisone after being on it the whole time. I am only on Plaquenil, Imuran and an NSAID.
    Even though I really rely on my meds to make me feel normal, I was really starting to feel good about where I am, but now all of a sudden I am losing my hair again and I am devastated! After Metho. I have had very thin hair and have been trying to work with it. But now with my bald spot I am worried it is going to get worse and worse and I will lose all my hair. I had my hair really short but I don’t think I could cut it off like you. How did you do it?
    Mostly I am frustrated that this is happening all over again. When I talk to my boyfriend about it he just says its not noticeable, it has been worse and changes the conversation. I needed to talk to someone who knows what this feels like. Thanks for listening.

Leave a Reply

